Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33153

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/16/2019

RE: Competitive Under 15

Eric Miller of Albany, NY USA asks...

After the goalkeeper makes a save inside the penalty box, he throws the ball to his teammate and the ball hits his teammate's hand inside the penalty box. Is this a direct kick (penalty) for the opposing team, or an Indirect kick for the opposing team?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Eric,
The relevant offence would be Deliberately Handling the Ball. This can never be an indirect free kick (keeper's double handling or handling off a deliberate kick to them/throw-in to them by a teammate is a different offence).

The referee needs to judge whether the handling was deliberate. For instance, arms down by the side, not even watching and it strikes the arm? This would be accidental, no foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Eric,
It's not necessarily a free kick at all. There would only be an offence if the referee judges that the ball was handled deliberately. It's difficult to tell from the limited information in your description but under the current handball law which includes a consideration about whether it was a case of ball to hand or hand to ball, this sounds like it could easily be seen as a case of accidental handling, which is not an offence and so no kind of free kick or penalty would result. As you may be aware, the law on handling is about to change soon and some instances of accidental handling will be penalised but even under the new law, accidental handling by a player inside their own penalty area would almost certainly not be penalised.




Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Eric
From what you describe the answer depends on whether the action of the defender was deliberate handling or not.
If the ball simply struck the arm of the defender accidentally then it is play on with no offence. However if the defender deliberately played or controlled the ball with his arm then that is a penal offence punished by a direct free kick or penalty kick if the offence happened inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Eric,
based on your description most likely, play on ! If the ball was deflected to an opponent, a spot of fortune for them, as an accidental handling INSIDE your OWN PA is not an advantage for you but the opposition & the fact a goal scoring opportunity could result is tough luck. Whereas at the other end should an accidental handling by you be in your favor would take that as a foul so you could not gain any advantage.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33153
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.