Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33155

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/16/2019

RE: MLS High School

John Nagel of Wilmette, IL USA asks...

It looks to me like the there was an infringement on this PK during Chicago Fire/Seattle Sounders game today. The kicker touched the ball a second time after rebound off the crossbar. Am I missing something? See https://youtu.be/hQzng9Bc3OE?t=129. You can see it on the replay even more clearly at 2:27.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi John,
I missed this at first - but the ball actually enters the goal before the 2nd touch. It hits the crossbar and bounces down, and looks to be over the line at this point.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi John,
As my colleague ref Wright points out, the ball was already over the line (I would say probably a foot or more over) and so the goal was already scored before the ball bounced back out and was touched a second time by the penalty kicker.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
The ball was actually over the goal line from the original kick so the second touch was irrelevant. Had it not crossed the line it would have been a double touch infringement punished by an indirect free kick.
It is for situations like this that the lead AR is positioned on the goal line. The AR would have seen the ball bounce down and as all of the ball was over all of the goal line he would have signalled goal to the referee.
If the ball was not over the line the AR would assist the referee in identifying the double touch



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
as the AR or CR recognized the initial shot had scored with the ball 100% completely crossing the goal line the follow up play was inconsequential.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33155
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.