Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33177

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 3/23/2019

RE: Adult

Shaun of melbourne , Australia asks...

during a penalty kick, the kicker jump over the ball and miss the kick, what referee should do?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Shaun,
There's not an awful lot of detail in your description so that makes it a little difficult to know exactly what is going on here. If the referee comes to the conclusion that the player has committed the offence of 'feinting to kick the ball once the kicker has completed the run-up' then the referee should stop play, caution the kicker and restart with an indirect free kick to the defending team.

If on the other hand the referee decides that this was some kind unfortunate accident (involving some kind of loss of balance, or a misjudgment of the run up for example) then the referee could allow the player another attempt at taking the kick.

It's tricky to make a definitive statement based on the information provided.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Shaun,
after a PK is awarded the pk kicker is identified to the referee. The referee ensures all players are properly positioned and the whistle sounds to begin the restart. The kicker in his run up can alter the speed and do a bit of a skip but he must kick the ball to put it in play. If he accidentally stumbled or fell over the ball we likely let him pick up his embarrassed butt and redo, as long as there was no actual contact with the ball. If it was deliberate then we could see it as a cautionable action of a feint gone bad after the completed run up or a time wasting action and award an INDFK out.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Shaun
Very likely that the player has illegally feinted at the ball which is a caution and an IDFK restart at the penalty mark to the defending team.
Perhaps if the player slipped and fell over the ball missing it completely the referee could decide that it was not deliberate and have the kick retaken.
Have a look at these three videos
On the first two there were cautions and IDFKs to the defending teams whereas the last one was just a double touch infringement only with no card.
I cannot really envisage a player missing the ball completely except on purpose?

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33177
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.