Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33187

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 3/26/2019

RE: Competitive Under 19

Gary Robinson of Pleasant Grove, UT USA asks...

I had a situation in a match that has me second guessing myself. During a penalty kick, the kicker struck the ball and hit the crossbar of the goal. The ball came directly back to her and she promptly headed the ball into the back of the net. After a moment of hesitation, I blew my whistle and indicated an IDFK to the defending team, no goal. Of course, the kicker's coach was not happy.

My interpretation of Law 14 is that a penalty kick must 'touch another PLAYER' before the kicker can make another strike. Since the keeper dived low, and the kick went high and hit the crossbar, I'm confident that nobody touched the ball before the kicker headed the ball.

Am I correct in my understanding, or was the headed goal legal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gary
Well done with that and you were 100% spot on.
As the ball has not touched another player the original kicker is precluded from touching the ball for a second time. To do so is a technical double touch infringement which has an IDFK restart.
The coach was totally wrong and you were best placed to see what happened.
In many pre match instructions the referee will ask the AR on the goal line to assist in ensuring that the double touch is not missed.
I remember as a very young referee witnessing a situation where a corner kick hit the front post directly from the kick and came back out to the kicker who immediately shot wide. Interestingly there was not one appeal for the double touch infringement! I have not seen it since yet the exact same principle applies. Same would apply to a free kick that rebounds to the kicker off the referee. Although in that situation the referee could opine he was not ready and go with a retake if he was so close that he was in the way!
Keep up the good work.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Well done Gary,
you were spot on mate.
INDFK for a 2nd touch off a free kick be it a PK or any other.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33187
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.