Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33231

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 4/9/2019

RE: Under 18

John (Iain) Doleman of Las Vegas, NV United States asks...

Can a goal be scored by team taking a DFK in one's own goal

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
if we are we talking about a defending kick outward bounds it CAN NOT enter their own goal directly as that restart is a corner kick. It could do so indirectly as long as a secondary touch of the ball occurs by any other player whilst outside the PA. Under current law it would be a retake if directly kicked by a defender into his goal if the starting point of the restart began within the PA . Once the new LOTG apply next season, the ball will no longer has to leave the PA to be in play, so it could occur within the goal area if a 2nd touch was to occur .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi John,
An own goal cannot be scored in the manner you describe. According to the Laws:

''if a direct or indirect free kick is kicked directly into the team's own goal, a corner kick is awarded''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
An own goal cannot be scored directly by a team on itself from any restart. That includes free kicks, goal-kicks, corner kicks, kick offs, thrown ins and for that matter the impossible one of a penalty kick. The penalty kick does not arise as the ball has to be kicked forward to be in play legally. It could happen on all of the others even a lengthy kick from a corner kick back towards the players goalkeeper and goal area!! Unlikely but possible.
In your example a free kick inside the penalty area cannot be scored directly by either team
In the case of an attacking team it is an IDFK so it needs a second touch. The restart is a goal kick if the ball enters the goal directly
From next season a defending kick will be in play which it is kicked and moved so from then on the restart will be a corner kick should the ball enter the defenders goal from the defending team own kick. As it currently stands the ball is not in play until it leaves the penalty area so the kick will be retaken should it enter the teams own goal.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33231
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.