Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33243

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/14/2019

RE: Adult

S of Aus, Aus Aus asks...

In the details of law changes part. In regards to throwing a object at the ball or held object. It says it's a separate category of offence for the GK so can be penalised in the penalty area. Does that mean it would then be a DFK penalty not a IDK?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Yes, it would mean a penalty kick if the goalkeeper is guilty of this category of offence inside the penalty area. The summary of 2017 changes says that:

''Throwing an object at the ball or hitting the ball with a held object are separate direct free
kick offences.''

Obviously, committing a direct free kick offence inside the penalty area leads to a penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Yes that would be the case.
The action is not normal play and it was seen as a separate offence that deserved more than an IDFK in the case of the goalkeeper.
The IDFK still continues for regular handling of a deliberate kick by a team mate TI the GK or picking up a ball that was released from possession.
A goalkeeper is not cautioned for such actions

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33243
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.