Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33259

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 4/19/2019

RE: Competitive Adult

peter Khozoei of Melbourne , Australia asks...

Law 14.
On offences and sanctions during the penalty kick.
' If both the goalkeeper and kicker commit an offence at the same time: if the kick is missed or saved, the kick is retaken (both players cautioned)
if the kick is scored, the goal is disallowed ( the kicker is cautioned).'
I have difficulty to understand the wisdom of this law:
If I miss it I have another chance, if I score the goal is disallowed and I will be cautioned.
What is the logic behind this?
Thank you for your attention and reply.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Peter
The most likely offences here to be committed by the kicker and the goalkeeper at the same time are illegal feinting by the kicker and encroachment by the goalkeeper. The illegal feinting demands a caution and an IDFK every time whereas encroachment by the GK is required when it is successful only. The Law spells out three circumstances where a caution and an IDFK must be awarded which are the illegal feinting, playing the ball backwards and the *wrong* kicker taking the PK.
Now when two offences happen together the Law wants to distinguish between the situations where a goal is scored, where it is not and serious offences.
Where a goal is scored it is obvious that the goalkeepers encroachment has not been successful unlike the kickers actions in which case the kick is retaken unless the kickers action was one of the more *serious offences* . The sanction for illegal feinting is a caution and an IDFK restart always. As you know there is no caution for a GK when a goal has been scored at a PK for encroachment.
In the case where the goal is not scored it is deemed that the action of the goalkeeper has been successful so in that case the kick is retaken unless there is the more serious offence after which both players are cautioned. The kicker in the illegal feinting has still committed what is seen as a *serious* offence even though he did not benefit hence the caution.
It has a logic to it although it is not immediately obvious which is why it has been asked a number of times on the site.
I believe in reality the encroachment part might probably be ignored in the goal scored penalty kick scenario with the focus on the illegal feinting by the kicker. I personally have never seen a double caution and an IDFK which probably would cause some head scratching as to what went on there! I suppose even trying to discern if the GK offended in an illegal feint situation would be difficult. Unlikely to test a referee and I believe IFAB is just covering it off to deal with the paper scenarios and the wordsmiths who need an answer to these outlier scenarios.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Peter,
When this change was brought in (as part of the 2017-18 laws) the IFAB gave their reasoning for it in the 'Details of all Law changes' section as follows:

''Clarifies the outcome when both the goalkeeper and kicker offend at the same time, which is rare as usually one will have clearly been the first to offend.
There are different outcomes because:
- if the kick is missed/saved (because of the goalkeeper's offence) both players have committed a cautionable (YC) offence
- if a goal is scored the goalkeeper has not committed a cautionable (YC) offence but as the kicker's offence is cautionable (YC) it is 'more serious' (see Law 5) and is therefore penalised.''

So what they are saying is that in the case of simultaneous offences, if the kick is missed/saved, both players have committed a cautionable offence but when a goal is scored in these circumstances, only the forward has committed a cautionable offence, hence the difference in how it is treated.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33259
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.