Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33293

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 4/30/2019

RE: youth Competitive Under 19

Giancarlo mancini of Millstone Township, New Jersey USA asks...

If a ball is out of play for a throw in and a foul is committed, is the correct call a free kick or throw in.

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Giancarlo,
The correct decision is a throw in. The first line of law 12 makes this quite clear in the following words:

''Direct and indirect free kicks and penalty kicks can only be awarded for offences committed when the ball is in play.''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Giancarlo,
If the ball is OUT of play then ANY action under taken by the players is ONLY a form of MISCONDUCT as VC 'Violent Conduct' or USB 'Unsporting behavior' This is because no foul can occur, if the ball can NOT be legally challenged for possession.

There is a very slight chance one might consider the foul trifling or doubtful or even careless but not worthy of a card because perhaps this contact occurs just as the ball is headed out so the timing is a bit off. Yet if play is stopped, the throw in a done deal and THEN we get unnecessary contact, even if minor, it is likely to get more than a stern word as the reckless USB aspect is at minimum in play with a very real possibility of a red card for VC or excessive force. No matter what the restart REMAINS the throw in .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Giancarlo
An offence can only be committed while the ball is in play. If it is out of play it is misconduct which can still be sanctioned by a card yet the restart does not change.
In your example if the ball is out of play for a throw in then any misconduct after that does not change the restart. It is still a throw in.
If the offence happens before the ball went out of play then the restart is the reason for the offence which will be a free kick or a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33293
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.