Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33367

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/21/2019

RE: Professional

engin ataman of olympia, WA United States asks...

http://tr.beinsports.com/lig/spor-toto-super-lig/ozet/2018-2019/33/trabzonspor-2-1-besiktas-mac-ozeti

starting at 19th second of the video. there is a handball situation. what is your take on this?

Thank you as always.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Engin
Most certainly not deliberate handling for me . The ball bounces up and hits the player accidentally on the arm.
The Law tells us that handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with the hand or arm. I do not see any deliberate act here by the player. The players arms are in a natural running position and he makes no effort to contact the ball deliberately.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Engin,
Not deliberate handling for me either. Certainly comes into the category of, 'We've seen them given,' though.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Engin,
Like the talent shows you get your third yes, it was not deliberate, no foul, no PK. The ball rebounds up off the foot as he turns.
• the ball touches a player's hand/arm directly from their own head/body/foot or
the head/body/foot of another player who is close/near
What is kind of ironic is if that was an attacker because the ball falls favorably it could be a free kick .

I very much dislike the new handling where a ball that deflects off an attackers arm is not a goal but it is if its a defenders arm. I had the keeper try to clear a ball drove it into the chest area of an attacker whose arm was across the chest ball hits arm rebounds into goal. THAT was a good goal and under the new LOTG it would not be!

HANDLING THE BALL
Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with the hand or arm.

The following must be considered:

the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)
the distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)
the position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an offence

Changes
• Deliberate handball remains an offence
• The following 'handball' situations, even if accidental, will be a free kick:
• the ball goes into the goal after touching an attacking player's hand/arm
• a player gains control/possession of the ball after it has touches their hand/arm
and then scores, or creates a goal-scoring opportunity
• the ball touches a player's hand/arm which has made their body unnaturally
bigger
• the ball touches a player's hand/arm when it is above their shoulder (unless the
player has deliberately played the ball which then touches their hand/arm)

• The following will not usually be a free kick, unless they are one of the above
situations:
• the ball touches a player's hand/arm directly from their own head/body/foot or
the head/body/foot of another player who is close/near
• the ball touches a player's hand/arm which is close to their body and has not
made their body unnaturally bigger
•if a player is falling and the ball touches their hand/arm when it is between their
body and the ground to support the body (but not extended to make the body
bigger)
•If the goalkeeper attempts to 'clear' (release into play) a throw-in or deliberate
kick from a team-mate but the 'clearance' fails, the goalkeeper can then handle
the ball
Explanation
Greater clarity is needed for handball, especially on those occasions when 'non deliberate' handball is an offence. The re-wording follows a number of principles:
• football does not accept a goal being scored by a hand/arm (even if accidental)
• football expects a player to be penalized for handball if they gain possession/control
of the ball from their hand/arm and gain a major advantage e.g. score or create a
goal-scoring opportunity
•it is natural for a player to put their arm between their body and the ground for
support when falling.
• having the hand/arm above shoulder height is rarely a 'natural' position and a
player is 'taking a risk' by having the hand/arm in that position, including when
sliding
•if the ball comes off the player's body, or off another player (of either team) who is
close by, onto the hands/arms it is often impossible to avoid contact with the ball
• When the GK clearly kicks or tries to kick the ball into play, this shows no intention
to handle the ball so, if the 'clearance' attempt is unsuccessful, the goalkeeper can
then handle the ball without committing an offence

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33367
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.