Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33389

Law 11 - Offside 5/25/2019

RE: Rec. Adult

John of LOUISVILLE, CO USA asks...

In today's Spanish Cope del Rey final Lionel Messi scored Barcelona's only goal as Barca lost to Valencia 2-1.
Messi's goal appeared to be offside, but you be the judge. Here is how it happened:
Corner kick for Barca, its kicked and a Barca player heads the ball towards goal from outside the 6 yard box. Messit is not offside when the ball is headed. The ball is deflected by Valencia's goalie towards Messi who receives the ball all alone completely behind all Valencia's players (and appears to be offside) and he does score. The goal is counted by the officials and no offside is called although Valencia unsuccessfully does appeal for offside.
Was this goal allowed because when the ball was headed Messi was not offside? And it did not matter if he was offside when the ball was deflected to him by Valencia's goalie?
Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi John,
Thank you for your question.
There's only one question that matters here: Was Messi in an offside position when the ball was last touched or played by a teammate?
That is the moment when offside position is judged. It doesn't get judged off an opponent's deflection. So, if the answer to the above question is 'no', then nothing that happens after has an impact.

So, your reasoning towards the end of your question is correct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi John,
According to the law, unless a player is ''in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched by a team-mate,'' they cannot be adjudged guilty of an offside offence. As you say, Messi was not in an offside position when the ball was headed by his team mate. Therefore he cannot be guilty of an offside offence, no matter what happened in between.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
The defender, I think number 8 Arthur, was keeping Messi onside at the time of the header. The defender moved up TOO late so the keeper deflection found Messi who was ONSIDE an easy goal.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
You are spot on.
Messi was onside at the moment of the header by his team mate. It may have looked like he was in an offside position when Messi received the ball yet it is the last touch by a team mate that matters in determining offside position.
The touch by the goalkeeper would only have mattered had Messi been previously in an offside position as it would have still been called offside. A save does not reset offside.
So 100% correct decision by the officials.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33389
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.