Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33418

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 6/6/2019

RE: Competitive Adult

Jak of Malindi, Kenya asks...

A goalkeeper in his own penalty area throws the ball into the opponent's goal and it goes in.Is it a goal or no goal and why?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jak,
Sigh I am getting to old for all these LOTG changes. . Me thinks they tinker too much at times. Well in a 11 aside normal match on a regulation pitch that would be quite the throw. Chances are NFL guys looking for a quarterback might show up as well. It is far more likely the punt out or a free kick could score than the throw but IF by some stretch of the imagination the ball did enter the opposing goal from a keeper's throw it would have counted until recently, now new LOTG state NO opponent can score, even an accidental score using the arm/hand. For whatever reason the LOTG NOW state its a GOAL KICK if a goal keeper throws it out of HIS PA into the opposing goal. . This is a tad confusing because if a player has a ball go into the goal or the keeper is outside his own PA and a ball goes into the opposing goal off a hand or arm be it on purpose or accidental it is a DFK to the opposition. Note offside exempt is the goal kick NOT the DFK,


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jak,
Under the current laws of the Game which are now in effect, this is not a goal. According to the new wording of law 10:

''If the goalkeeper throws the ball directly into the opponents' goal, a goal kick is awarded.''

Up until June 1 this year, under the old Laws of the Game - or in a competition stated before June 1 and which is still ongoing, this would count (or would have counted) as a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jak
This law changed on the 1st June.
A goal cannot be awarded when a goalkeeper throws the ball into the opponents goal. The restart is a goal kick.
Prior to this it was possible yet it had to be one mighty throw. As more games are now moving to small sided, recreational with smaller pitch sizes the lawmakers have decided to not allow such goals. That has been the position in Futsal and the normal game has now followed suit. I've seen it in Futsal yet never witnessed it in a full sized pitch game.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33418
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.