Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33431

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/10/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

my question is about advantage and place of restart.

Situation:
Player A is fouled and passes ball to his teammate B. Defender touches this ball and at the same time (or after a while) fouls player B. Where is place of restart?

In general, does it matter how events follow each other? Or, when does the advantage end?

Thank you very much!

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Petr,
we restart according to why we stop play choosing the restart based on what occurred.
Advantage is only considered by an aware referee when a foul that results in a free kick occurs during active play. Within a small window of time (1 to 5 seconds) we EXPLORE NOT stopping play, because of the possibility the aggrieved team is MUCH better off in our allowing play to continue than to stop play and award them a free kick.

Situation foul A: we are observing the potential of advantage when-
Situation foul B: a NEW 2nd foul occurs

Think on this the first defender commits a tripping foul inside the PA, the ball is passed or rolls favorably to a 2nd attacker back outside the PA. He looks very likely to get a shot off but a 2nd defender fouls him outside the PA preventing a clear goal scoring opportunity.

So the 2nd foul is only a DFK where as the first one was a PK.
Which restart is more advantageous?
Yes the PK.
We go back and award the PK for the first foul. IF there is any cardable misconduct with the 2nd foul THAT is still punished as is if there is any misconduct off the 1st foul . We can do so because there was CLEARLY NO better opportunity than that PK opportunity. We chose not to immediately stop play on the off chance the the 2nd attacker might score but we go back to that first foul. ..

Same situation except the first foul is OUTSIDE the PA but the ball runs on ahead favorably for an ONSIDE attacker to have a go at goal from INSIDE the PA & a 2nd foul prevents the opportunity with the ball being subsequently cleared.
There was no advantage for a shot but is not the 2nd foul INSIDE the PA of greater weight than the DFK outside?
You bet, a PK is a far better opportunity .
Thus we jump ahead to that 2nd foul, restart with a PK but first we take care of any cardable misconduct on the 1st or 2nd foul.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
In your example the restart is in the more advantageous location. In general it probably is location foul B which could have a decent distance advantage for the fouled against team. Other times location foul B could be inside the penalty area so obviously a penalty kick will be much more advantageous.
If foul location B is a more disadvantageous location then the referee can and should go back to location foul A. Probably no real advantage was available in that situation anyway.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
The restart for any offence on the field of play, is where the offence occurred. So where the restart is, depends on which offence the referee is penalising. Now, when applying the advantage clause, the referee can choose to penalise the original offence - or not, as the case may be. If the referee penalises the original offence, the restart is from where that offence occurred and if they penalise the subsequent offence it's from that location.

So the question becomes, if there are two offences, either of which could potentially be penalised, which should the referee choose? As my colleagues have pointed out, in an advantage situation, it should be the one that is more advantageous.

You also ask, when does advantage end. The law says that the referee can go back to the original offence so long as they do so ''within a few seconds'' so it ends either when those few seconds are up or when the advantage is realised (in both cases, this is as judged by the referee).



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33431
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33440

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.