Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33457

Law 11 - Offside 6/19/2019

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney, Kerr-stralia asks...

Offside or HB ?

https://www.yoursoccerdose.com/11703460-brazil-vs-venezuela-copa-america/#2

Brazil had a goal ruled out by VAR, from what is being called as offside. Live commentary and post match reports suggest offside.
The Referee looks like he may have signalled for offside. What he did do was raise his hand to signal an IDFK, what he did not do was signal that the IDFK was for HB, so seems like everyone is calling it offside. But how could it possibly be offside.
I wonder if it was actually for HB by Firmino and just that the ref did not signal for that.
No conclusive footage of the ball hitting his hand, but numerous Venezuela players were quick to point to Firmino. The match commentary did question if there was contact by Firmino, but did not seem to follow through with that.
If it was DHB, then a DFK would be the restart, but maybe it was just that the ball hits his hand/arm after the keeper deflected the cross " the new HB ruling would see it as an IDFK.

Am I really missing something - I just could not see how offside could be the call on this one.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Tough VAR night for Brazil with three goals ruled out.
First one Firmino fouls his opponent
Second one the play by the Venezuela player was considered a save so it was not a reset after the ball went to the PIOP
One the third one it was called offside against Firmino which personally I think could only be for contact off Firmino. I cannot see interfering here with an opponents yet if the ball hit him then it was offside.
Firmino was in a slight offside position and VAR is calibrated finely to pick up these tight offside. VAR has I believe two extra offside cameras which may have shown the slight deflection of Firmino. It was clearly signaled offside and an IDFK
Finally there is NO new deliberate handling law. It remains a direct free kick. The interpretation has changed to rule out accidental handling being allowed where a goal has been scored or a goal scoring opportunity create. Also advice given on when it is likely to be called deliberate such as raised arms away from the body. Even if it is accidental handling a goal or GSO cannot now be allowed.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Russel, it was a harsh reality check for the VAR intrusions. Three disallowed goals for Brazil, I am sure they feel hard done by lol. Th first was an easy foul, the whistle was sounding prior to the goal. The 2nd goal was an easy offside but the AR was way out of position.
Your third one was the more interesting one. If the Brazilian Firmino had touched the ball accidentally on the hand it would be a DFK out given the ball favorably bounced their way. Given it was signaled as an INDFK I suspect it was the ball brushed him as it went into the goal as he was marginally ahead of the keepers head. WE are talking millimeters here. sigh Cheers
note the 3d aspect they use now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PCOK7-kc_8o



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Russell,
I'd just like to echo what my colleagues have said - there is no law change which allows an indirect free kick for a handling offence. All the new wording in Law 12, whether about the forms of accidental handling that are to be penalised or the new definitions of what constitutes deliberate handling, come in the section entitled, 'Direct Free Kick.'

There is one scenario in which a goal kick is awarded consequent to use of the hand/arm - when a goalkeeper throws the ball into the opponent's goal - but handling can never lead to an indirect free kick.

So as my colleagues have also pointed out, if an indirect free kick was awarded, then it can only have been for offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33457
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.