Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33481

Law 11 - Offside 6/25/2019

RE: Competitive Other

Joseph Frasca of Toronto , Ontario Canada asks...

Law 5 regarding advantage cannot be applied to law 11. This i have been taught and other refs here have confirmed my beliefs. Does fifa or any other league explicitly state that law 5 may not be applied to law 11?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Joseph,
advantage can & occasionally does indeed apply to law 11. It often involves keeper possession in the hands instead of putting the ball onto the ground for an INDFK or ignoring it because it was overlooked at the time. .You see if the AR flags in preparation to head off a collision between an offside attacker & say the keeper.and the ball skips to the keeper the CR could wave off the flag. In essence the criteria might have been met but the game did not require a stoppage or inversely the CR, in his opinion, by waving off the flag, is stating the criteria of involvement does not apply. In a recent match the keeper came out to challenge as he caught the ball he jumped over-top a downed offside attacker who was inside his PA and kind of stumbled . There was NO doubt the offside player interfered but the keeper regained his footing ran out to the edge of the 18 yard area and punted the ball deep into the opposition half for a counter attack. The AR had raised the flag but the CR waved him off..

NOTHING in the laws of the game state this is NOT possible. The difference in a ball in or out of play into touch is NOT the same as a RECOGNIZED involvement from an offside positioned player in that if play continues it renders everything after as mute.

A ball goes out of play in behind the goal line but the defender clears it up-field fast break, they score, before kick off the VAR tells the CR the ball CLEARLY had exited the FOP just prior to the clearance. Guess what? NO goal. Crappy mechanics perhaps but restart based on corner or goal kick

But if say there was an attacker who clearly offside had challenged that defender and VAR shows this after the goal is scored do you think we are coming back for an INDFK near the goal line on a team that just scored a goal???
Not a chance my friend. Not a chance. Advantage played.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joseph
Old school advice I'm afraid. It is no longer the case.
Advantage can be applied to Law 11 if the referee believes that by doing so it benefits the offended against team. The only time advantage cannot be played is on Law 9 when the ball is out of play.
By its nature advantage is not going to present very often in offside certainly not at the lower levels. At the higher levels where the Pros just want the ball they can get *annoyed* where referees pull play back to give an IDFK when all that they do is go back to where they were at a few seconds before. So advantage at the higher levels does happen and does so regularly.
For example lone PIOP heads the ball on to the goalkeeper who collects the ball and throws it to a defender some thirty yards away unmarked who is going to push forward another 20 yards. Why would the referee pull play back to the IDFK rather than allowing advantage? He simple waves the AR flag down and signals advantage.
Or let us say that there is an offside in the last minute of the game and the goalkeeper gathers the ball to run to punt the ball forward to a team mate who is unmarked. Why would advantage not be played there?



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Joseph,
No organisation that I am aware of, is teaching that advantage cannot be applied to law 11. Certainly the IFAB, the sole guardian of the laws, do not state this. Now as always, advantage must be used judiciously and as my colleagues have pointed out, it quite often isn't appropriate to offside calls, though it can be, when the right circumstances occur as they have further outlined.

The law says, quite plainly and simply, that the referee:

''allows play to continue when an offence occurs and the non-offending team will benefit from the advantage''

As you can see, this statement does not call out law 11 as a law where this is not to be used.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33481
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.