Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33555

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/3/2019

RE: Competive Under 13

Mike of Wichita, Ks USA asks...

The goal kick: a defender takes the goal kick. He chips it directly to the goalie who catches it. The play is not called a hand ball. What is the official rule on this?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mike ,
technically when a defender has deliberately kicked the ball with his foot with the intent of designating the keeper as the recipient of that kick it restricts the handling option by the keeper. The keeper is NOT permitted to use the hands. It is an INDFK from where the keeper caught the ball inside the PA subject to the 6 yard goal area special circumstances. The LOTG changed and the ball does not have to leave the PA to be in play .

I do not find this to be a circumvent situation by the way . The recent circular where keeper taking the GOAL kick was knocking it to the chest or head of a teammate and then handling the ball inside the PA , IFAB has stated the goal kick is to be retaken. Rather than delay a solution, perhaps this situation could been easily addressed by saying the GK cannot handle the ball following a GK or outgoing free kick inside the PA until the ball has touched an opponent or the ball has left the PA?


Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
In June 2019 Law 16 and Law 13 were amended to state that a ball did not have to leave the penalty area to be in play.
One of the consequences of that is there has been situations where the ball has been played back to the GK in a way that allows the goalkeeper to pick the ball up that is a header, chest etc. I have as yet not seen a kick to the goalkeeper by a defender which would be an IDFK offence should the goalkeeper touch the ball with his hands.
IFAB has now issued a circular to state that for the moment In these situations the goal kick shall be retaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Mike,
A defender kicking it to his own keeper who handles the ball inside his own PA simply falls under the regular law that prevents the keeper from handling the ball after it has been deliberately kicked to them by a teammate. The restart is an IFK.

There may be some confusion amongst the players over some recent controversial videos where, under the new LOTG which no longer requires the ball to leave the PA at a GK/FK to be in play, a keeper has flicked the ball up to a defender who has headed/chested it back and the keeper has handled it. In those cases, the referee on the day has permitted it but there is strong sentiment amongst referees that it falls under 'circumventing the LOTG' and is a caution for at least one of the players involved and an IFK to the opponents.

For THAT particular scenario, IFAB has now issued a temporary ruling that it is a retake of the GK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33555
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.