Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33558

Kicks From The Penalty mark 8/5/2019

RE: Competive Under 18

Scott of San Jose, CA US asks...

Watched a game this weekend that went to kicks from the mark. Unbelievably it ended up 12 to 13, but I have a few questions.
1.) After all ten field players shot there was confusion if the goal keepers had to shoot. After the refs talked it over they decided the goal keepers did not have to shoot, so the 11th shot was a second shot by a field player. Is that correct?
2.) A keeper made a save, but the AR signaled she came off her line too early, which was a good call as both feet were off. Doesn't she have to be given a caution for that?
3.) If she were given a caution and did it again,could she be subbed from the bench?
This game had unlimited substitutions, so what would you do if that wasn't the case and all their subs had already been used?
Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

1. No, that was not correct. A goalkeeper is a player. All players must take a shot before any player can take a second.

2. Yes, it should be a caution, under the current Laws of the Game. That portion of the Laws was set aside temporarily, but only for the WWC.

3. If a goalkeeper is sent off during kicks from the penalty mark, she must be replaced in goal with a player already on the field. It doesn't matter how many substitutes are allowed (a number or unlimited) or if all the allowed substitutions have been used. The only substitution allowed in kicks from the penalty mark is if the goalkeeper was injured. Since the team would be playing down one player, the other team will also remove one player from the remaining round(s) of kicks.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Scott ,

(1)all players including the keeper must first shoot a PK before ANY player can shoot a second time! This is now a protestable outcome as the LOTG were disregarded

(2)FIFA/IFAB did wave the caution to the keeper at the Woman's world cup as the VAR was so critical of even a inch of movement but technically that condition is still within the LOTG . That said it is feasible that the NEW LOTG might not yet apply if the league in which this match is associated with was started earlier in the year.

(3) If indeed the keeper was sent off via a double yellow thus red card that keeper CAN NOT be substituted. An outfield player on the pitch at the time would take the keeper's place and the opposition would reduce their numbers by one to account for the loss of the keeper so as to be equal numbers taking kicks from the PM.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Scott,
I'm not quite sure why there was any confusion over the keepers taking a kick. It's a relatively common occurrence for goalkeepers to take penalties during a 'penalty shoot-out' - sometimes even during the first five kicks. The law says that any player who is on the field at the end of the match (or temporarily off the field for injury, adjusting equipment etc) is an eligible player and that: ''all eligible players must take a kick before any player can take a second kick''

As my colleagues have said, under the laws as they stand, the keeper should have been cautioned. It's possible that the referee decided to apply the same principle used at the WWC (not cautioning keepers during KFPM) although technically that dispensation was only for that specific competition and was not supposed to be generally applicable.

A keeper who is sent off during KFPM may not be replaced so it doesn't matter what substitution law was being used. After the goalie was sent off, the other team would have to choose a player to be excluded from the kicks, using the 'reduce to equate' principle.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Scott
One of the consequences of multiple law changes is that there can be confusion particularly with different season start times. Competitions that have started before any Law changes do not have to introduce those until the next new season. Not sure what the situation is here?
Anyway these are answers that are unaffected
1. The goalkeepers had to take a kick. All players on the field of play at the end of the game must take a kick unless injured. Goalkeepers are included
2. Yes the goalkeeper should have been cautioned for encroachment. The Laws of the Game and Law 14 applies in Kicks from the Penalty Mark.
3. If a player including a goalkeeper is dismissed during Kicks from the Penalty Mark then the team plays short and the opponents are asked to reduce their number by one also under the *Reduce to Equate* principle.
As to a substitution the Laws of the Game were not written nor intended for roll on roll off substitutions situations. It is required that once substituted in a regular game that a player would take no further part in the game including KFTPM . It is for this reason that teams make last minute substitutions before KFTPM.
If a team has not used all its substitutions an injured goalkeeper can be replaced during KFTPM. It is covered under the following ** A goalkeeper who is unable to continue before or during the kicks may be replaced by a player excluded to equalise the number of players or, if their team has not used its maximum permitted number of substitutes, a named substitute, but the replaced goalkeeper takes no further part and may not take a kick**
It may also be covered under a local competition rule which may not permit substitutions during KFTPM in unlimited substitutions. In the past USSF ruled that only players ON or entitled to be ON the field of play could take part in KFTPM which rules out a replacement GK from the bench.
In a regular game without unlimited substitutions it does not arise (unless a team has not used all its substitutions) and one of the remaining 10 must go into goal.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33558
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.