Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33559

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/6/2019

RE: Competitive Under 15

Eugene of San Jose, CA US asks...

Now that the ball is live as soon as it's kicked on the goal kick, would you give an IFK for the accidental double touch, like Joe Hart did a few seasons ago https://gfycat.com/generalmeatydungenesscrab-askareferee-soccer ?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Eugene,
Actually, as we can see from the position of the kick, this was a free kick inside the penalty area rather than a goal kick but the principle remains the same so it's a good question and well-spotted.

As ref McHugh says, if there were no advantage it would now indeed be an indirect free kick offence but if there's an an advantage to the non-offending team as there was here, the referee should apply the advantage.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Eugene
As Law 16, 13 is now written the ball is in play when it is kicked and moved inside the penalty area.
In that regard a second touch by a goalkeeper is a double touch infringement punished by an IDFK. In the past a second touch inside the penalty area resulted in a retake.
In the Joe Hart incident advantage can now be played and a goal awarded. If there is no advantage an IDFK would be awarded.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33559
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.