Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33588

Law 11 - Offside 8/20/2019

RE: Competitive Adult

Jason of Taber, Alberta Canada asks...

Offside! A free kick is taken, players A&B are in an offside position,when the ball is played, player C runs past the wall and past A&B the ball hits player C in the back dropping to player A who was originally offside when the free kick was taken and Player A scores. Does the ball hitting player C in the back then make A&B onside? Or due to their original positioning in an offside position gaining an advantage, should it be called offside.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jason
If player C was in an onside position when the ball was played then his * touch* begins a new phase of play. As Player A and B are behind C at that touch they are onside and entitled to participate in active play.
Also this can be a set play with attacking players positioning themselves beyond the defensive line in an offside position waiting for the second phase of play from an onside player.
The benefit is that the offside players can be difficult to pick up or mark on the second phase of play.
Opening line of Law 11 is that it is not an offence to be in an offside position.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jason,
Assuming A, B & C are all team mates, then as you describe this, there is no offside offence here. Offside is re-evaluated every time the ball touches a player. If players A&B are not closer to their opponent's goal line than the ball when the ball touches a team mate, they are not in an offside position.

For them to fulfil the criteria for gaining advantage, the ball would have to rebound from an opponent which, if A, B &C are all team mates, has not happened in the situation you describe.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jason,

if player C was a team mate and was onside and during the ball flight he ran to a position which placed players A and B onside that new contact of the ball off player C is a New touch by a team mate thus it resets offside and player A is free to play the ball.


If player C was a defender then A and B as attackers could be guilty of gaining an advantage .

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33588
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.