Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33605

Law 11 - Offside 8/28/2019

RE: Rec Adult

Marco of Fort Worth , Tx USA asks...

On a pk, if the goaly block the ball it goes of his hands into the post and comes back out, the kicker then tries to control with his chest but can the goaly comes out he then give the ball to a player who is infront of him at the time of the pass and he proceeds to score, is the player that scored the goal considered offside? Or is there no offsides in that scenario?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Marco,
The only 'scenarios' where offside is not a consideration are goal kicks, corners and throw-ins. At all other times, the normal offside considerations apply. So at a penalty - or as in this case, subsequent to a penalty, we just need to establish (as we always do) if the player was closer to the opponent's goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent when the ball was touched or played by a team mate and did they then become involved in active play.

As ref McHugh mentions, there might be the possibility of encroachment to consider but in terms of offside this is a standard scenario - no special clauses or exemptions in regard to offside, apply at penalties.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Marco,
it will depend ,

at the taking of a PK, ALL players including defenders are to be further away from the goal line than 12 yards, except the defending keeper of course as he and the pk kicker are the ONLY two inside the PA. Once the kick occurs, only then, are the other players permitted to move closer and into the PA.

If the keeper stops the ball but it then rebounds away, the PK kicker is allowed to replay the ball as the keeper did get a touch first. IF it had simply rebounded off the post or crossbar with NO keeper touch, then it is an indfk out for a second touch by the pk kicker!

Once the PK kicker contacts the ball with his chest and decides to pass it to a team mate THIS IS A NEW OFFSIDE evaluation moment. NOW inside the PA, at the time of that pass, where is the teammate in relationship to the 2 closest defenders or is he behind the ball, FURTHER AWAY from the goal line, WHEN the PK kicker passes the ball (last touches the ball)?

If we assume the team mate did not encroach into the PA ahead of the PK kick he may be permitted to be part of play IF he has not assumed an offside position at the time of the PK kicker's eventual pass? WE can assume defenders are rushing in as well, so their position as well as the keeper's position MIGHT place the attacker receiving the pass as on or off .

It is entirely plausible for the attacking teammate to be ONSIDE and run into what looks like an offside position to score. As the Pk kicker could tap the ball into space over beside and behind the keeper for the ONSIDE attacker in behind the ball to run on to and score !

HOWEVER. if the attacking team mate was CLOSER To the goal line then the ball WHEN the PK kicker passes the ball off and there were NOT two opponents closer or even with that attacker, that attacker WOULD be OFFSIDE and the goal would not count.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Marco
As described this is offside as the kicker has played the ball to a team mate in an offside position. It is assumed that the scorer is ahead of the ball with only the goalkeeper between himself and the goal line at the moment of the pass by the penalty taker.
Offside does not apply directly from a penalty kick as the referee must ensure that no attacker is ahead of the ball in an offside position at the kick. It rarely happens yet any attacker to the side of the penalty area must be behind the ball in an onside position.
Now after the initial kick offside continues to apply as the ball as is in regular open play.
The only question I would pose is that depending on how play unfolded could the second attacker in an offside position be also guilty of encroachment. To get ahead of the kicker and the ball on a rebound suggests the player made up a great deal of ground in a very short space of time?



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33605
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.