Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33614

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/2/2019

RE: Competitive Adult

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Hi!
1. I felt mixed up by another senior referee who lectured a number of us saying when a player throws anything (eg stick, shinguard, boot) at the playing ball during play it is judged as handball offence. He said it is treated as an extension of the hand, and I felt like 'no' but wanted to research more on the same. I have not seen this in the LOTG unless you redirect me to the clauses where this is found.
I have always known that 'extending the hand' only means using anything to connect the hand to the ball ( handheld item touching the ball- not a thrown object). Or how should it be?
2. In connection to the above, how should I sanction and restart play if a goal keeper in his penalty area:
a) blocks a shot going into the goals using boots held in the hands
b) deflects out a shot going into the goals by hitting the ball with the boots?
And reasons for the sanctions, if any?

Great thanks in advance!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Your senior referee colleague is not up to date.
Previously a thrown object or object held in the hand was treated as deliberate handling yet that had the problem of not carding a goalkeeper for handling inside the penalty area for this unfair act unlike say handling a deliberate kick from a team mate.
IFAB has now put that situation right by introducing a separate offence which is quoted by Referee Dawson. So a goalkeeper is treated the same as any player if he commits this offence which is now a penalty kick if it happens inside the penalty area and if it denied an obvious goal scoring situation the goalkeeper is sent off. If he used his hands only inside the penalty area there is no possible card.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Refjack,
the LOTG USED to give a keeper an out for such stupidity by stating it was an extension of the hands and as he was ALLOWED to use his hands inside the PA we could only caution the misconduct and award an INDFK. NOT anymore These are send off actions punishable by a DFK thus PK for unfairly denying an OGSO.
Cheers

IFAB/FIFA LOTG quote

A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits the following offence:

throws an object at the ball, an opponent or a match official, or makes contact with the ball with a held object

If a player who is on or off the field of play throws or kicks an object (other than the match ball) at an opposing player, or throws or kicks an object (including a ball) at an opposing substitute, substituted or sent-off player, team official, or a match official or the match ball, play is restarted with a direct free kick from the position where the object struck or would have struck the person or the ball. If this position is off the field of play, the free kick is taken on the nearest point on the boundary line; a penalty kick is awarded if this is within the offender’s penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33614
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.