Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33628

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 9/7/2019

RE: Under 15

Paul Brown of Aspley Guise, BEDS United Kingdom asks...

With the new rule change that a goal kick does not need to leave the area - but attacking team must be outside the area; I have already seen a situation where the keeper passes to a defender in the area, who crouches and heads the ball back to the keeper. Allowing him to pick it up and kick from hands.

This does not seem to be covered in the rules but feslike unsporting conduct. What should a ref do?

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

HI Paul,
As a result of contrived player antics due to recent law changes on Law 16 FIFA/IFAB offered this circular as an explanation until a final determination is arrived at. https://www.docdroid.net/LSio1Q9/circular-log-law-16-clarification-2019-20-en-draft.pdf

http://theifab.com/news/laws-of-the-game-201920-important-clarifications

from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Paul,
The cries of SERIOUSLY??? & Are you kidding??? rang out almost immediately once the players began legally getting the ball into their keepers hand, thanks to their using the modified LOTG on goal kicks. Players are not as slow as sometimes we pretend they are. They adapt to the changes . At one time you could head the ball out of the keeper hands saw it done, goal awarded or charge the keeper while he held the ball players find ways to use the LOTG . Offside tactics are BASED on the LOTG positioning conditions for offside!

The fact the opposition CAN NOT challenge this tactic inside the PA is blatantly unfair. If the keeper was to kick the ball OUTSIDE the PA and the header or chest back is a perfectly legal move it is NOT a circumvent even if it is kind of a dorky move. Players adapt to use the LOTG to their advantage IF they can. So upon realizing their error in wording the LOTG IFAB/FIFA quickly made up a circular to say, we recognize we messed up so for now just retake the goal kick until we figure out a better solution.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
When this started to happen after the law change it caused a bit of a stir. When it happened, most that I saw, the referees allowed play to continue.
Many referees saw it as circumvention while others saw nothing wrong with it.
Anyway IFAB stepped in to rule that where it now happens it is a retake of the goal-kick. It is to consider it further at a future meeting.
Anyway the ruling has put an end to it



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Paul,
There have been a few high profile cases like this. This caused quite a lot of debate amongst fans and referees as officials on those high profile matches permitted it, whilst others argued it should be considered trickery to circumvent the laws. Personally, I'm inclined to agree with you - but fortunately IFAB have already weighed in on this.
If the defending team uses trickery to manipulate this sort of restart in this fashion, the referee is to order the kick to be taken



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33628
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.