Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33632

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/8/2019

RE: Red Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

These can be a difficult to get right.

The challenge on Neymar at the backend of these highlights.

Just a 'coming together' or otherwise.

Often, just what can happen in a contact sport.
Often, a foul.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russel
The clear charge/push into the back sending Neymer towards the signage at the end of the match was a PK. I would have called it 100% . His match his decision his reputation.


Cheers <

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The video link does not seem to work which may be a location restriction.
Anyway for what it is worth I watched extended highlights of the game and the referee for me called most contact even slight ones as fouls. So for me throughout the game he was anxious not to allow a physical game to develop. He was also quick to card when required. The only call that I saw that was questionable was on the goal line late on when Neymar slid into the advertising board after contact by a defender.
Now these are rarely given as offences as usually they are penalty calls. Over the years I have seen countless illegal shielding which ends up as pushing or holding not given in these goal line tussles. At this level it has almost become understood that this type of contact is not going to be given as an offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33632
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.