Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33635

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/8/2019

RE: competive Adult

Marco Luna of Warrenton, VA United States asks...

what will be the call if one defender kicks on the head to his teammate inside the penalty box when he intends to clear the ball with a bycicle kick with an opponent near the both of them, and the ball bounces of the defenderand goes out pass the goal line

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Marco
By definition a playing foul is committed against an opponent. So there is no offence if an player kicks a team mate by accident in playing the ball.
Do the same against an opponent and it is a direct free kick and most likely a red or yellow card.
In this instance the likely restart is a corner kick.
If the referee was of the opinion that the kick was playing in a dangerous manner involving an opponent then an indirect free kick would be the restart. For that to happen the opponent has to be affected by the action such as moving away from the ball for fear of contact by the high boot. That does not read like that happened in your scenario.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Marco,
a corner kick is the likely restart unless the referee felt PIADM was correct if the opponent nearby refrained from challenging due to the unsafe actions. Defending team's coach might want to practice clearance procedures next practice! lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Marco,
Based on your description, I'd say the correct call here would most probably be a corner kick. If there is totally inadvertent physical contact between team mates, it is not an offence. Another possibility, I suppose would be an indirect free kick to the attacking team if the nearby attacker you mention, was actually prevented from playing the ball for fear of injury but I have to say, it sounds unlikely that from the way you describe it. If the defender made contact with their own team mate, it seems improbable that the attacker would also have been close enough to be affected.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33635
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.