Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33644

High School 9/11/2019

RE: Rec/Competitive Under 19

Jason C of La Crosse, WI USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33642

Quick follow up that you don't have to post - in response to Ref McHugh's question about the restart, NFHS changed this for 2019. No more IDFK on injury restarts unless the ball is in the possession of the keeper. Everything else is a contested drop ball. The restart should have been a contested drop just outside the goal area (where the ball was when the injury/collision occurred), however the referee mistakenly gave an IDFK to the keeper's team. He probably didn't get the memo on the rule change. I'm not sure this would've been correct last year either. The attacking player and keeper arrived at the ball at the same time when they collided.

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Jason,

You are correct about the Rules change. NFHS Rule 9-3 Temporary Suspension now indicates that:

In case of a temporary suspension due to an injury or any unusual situation, the game shall be started by a dropped ball at the spot where the ball was when play was suspended except if during a penalty kick which would require the kick to be taken; provided the ball was not in the goal area which would result in a dropped ball at the nearest spot on the part of the goal area that runs parallel to the goal line; and not in possession of the goal keeper. If the goal keeper has clear possession, the game would be started with an indirect kick for the goalkeeper's team from the spot of possession when the play became dead.

Thank you for this clarification.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33644
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.