Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33655

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 9/17/2019

RE: Youth to adult, comp and rec.

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33647

Panelist Peter Grove says (of the keeper's double-touch on the goal kick), 'However under the latest version of the IFAB's Laws of the Game, at a goal kick the ball is in play as soon as it is kicked and clearly moves so in a game played under these regulations, the referee should apply the advantage rule and allow the goal.'

I had not considered this advantage and would have whistled it down as soon as the second touch took place. (Similarly, refs should be open to allowing for advantage on other two-touch free kicks: correct?)

So: under the new law, a keeper who miskicks should fall on the ball or boot it safely away, if he/she wants to ensure an offensive indirect free kick. As a keeper, they would suffer no further sanction for handling, I expect, unless it looked like deliberate time-wasting?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Barry,
I remember distinctly when the question of advantage on a second touch offence was being debated on a refereeing forum. I took the view that advantage could be applied as the law clearly says that advantage can be invoked whenever ''an offence occurs and the non-offending team will benefit from the advantage ...''

Some people disagreed and one of the participants sent a query to the IFAB. The official response from them was that advantage does indeed apply at second touch offences.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Advantage on a double touch us rare as generally the balloon is played away with little to no benefit to the opposing team.
In days gone by advantage was restricted to law 12 offences while it now applies to all offences.
It just so happened in the goal kick scenario that the rebound of the double touch ended up in the goal so advantage can and should be played in a FIFA game whereas in NFHS the ball is not in play so it cannot be played



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Barry,
in some instances the double touch is unintentional or confused . I watched a horrible thrown in that slipped out of the hands and was bobbled into the FOP right at the throwers feet. Technically it was a legal throw- in albeit rather ugly but it could have been whistled as a redo given it really was a slip. Yet the thrower has it bouncing away in front as the opponent is closing it down, elects to kick it against the charging attacker. The ball rebound is favorable to the attacker but referee blow for the 2nd touch. Personally I would have signaled to retake the throw or award advantage in THAT case .

The second touch free kick is most often after a slip, hits a water puddle or a rebound off the woodwork or referee. I watched a PK taker fall on the run up, kind of nudge the ball off the spot and then flail a leg /knee onto it . We do not reward mistakes so INDFK out although one might feel inclined to retake since he obviously fell hard on the slippery grass.

We can apply advantage to a second touch since the ball is in play and the indirect free kick THAT would follow, if play WAS stopped, CAN be taken quickly! Yet we are inclined to blow quickly just because of the obviousness of the technical infraction and rare the opportunity for advantage could exist. .
I would agree, the keeper at best gives away a INDFK for a mistake inside the PA. A harsh consequence but palatable. Cards under consideration only in the most dire of circumstances! An oh my GAWD moment what have I done in Flubberville is hardly a reason.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33655
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.