Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33665

Law 11 - Offside 9/22/2019

RE: Rec Under 9

Neil of Centralia, Illinois USA asks...

There is a throw in to the attacking team in the defenses half. Two attacking players are in a position closer to the goal line than the defending players. Player A is closer to the goal line than player B. Player B receives the ball from the throw in, is plater A then in an offside position?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Neil,
from your description the MOMENT player B physically touches the ball it restricts player A's participation because (Player A) is in an offside position. This ASSUMES no other defenders have moved closer to the goal line while the ball is GETTING to player B . Nor does it mean there is an INDFK awarded as of yet because there is no hint of INVOLVEMENT by player A.
If player B shoots and scores we would look to see if player A had blocked or interfered with the opposition keeper or a defender in some significant way as to be INVOLVED in the outcome of play. If not then B has a good goal as long as player A was not part of the equation other than being in an offside position.

Also if player B moves forward with the ball and on a subsequent touch of the ball Player A is further away from the goal line than the ball itself . This RESETS Player As offside positional restriction and Player A can now participate and become involved legally. Same too if the 2nd last opponent had moved closer to the goal line than player A while player B was moving with the ball.

While offside is evaluated at EACH touch of the ball keep in mind players move in ALL directions as can the ball, which is why we suggest imagining offside as a still photo snapped in a moment of time. Restricted players can do NOTHING by themselves to get back into play only a NEW touch of the ball by a team mate when they are no longer in an offside position, the ball is deliberately played by the opposition or they have control & possession, lastly the ball goes out of play for a restart.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Neil,
Difficult to tell from your description. You say that player A is closer to the opponent's goal line than player B and the defenders when the throw was taken but you don't describe their subsequent relative positions. Assuming player A was still closer to the opponent's goal line than the second-last opponent (doesn't have to be closer than all of them) AND the ball, player A would be in an offside position.

However please note that the very first line of the offside law says that:

''It is not an offence to be in an offside position.''

A player also cannot be offside from a throw-in.

So unless after player B touches the ball, player A then either plays the ball or interferes with an opponent, there is no offside offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Neil
At the moment of the throw in neither players A or B can be called offside.
However the touch by Player B begins a new phase of play so if Player A is ahead of the ball without having two opponents between himself and the goal line he is in an offside position and Player A will be called offside should he interferes with play by touching the pass / touch from Player B or interferes with an opponent on that touch / play.
The exemption on offside passes when the ball is touched / played by team mate from the throw in.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33665
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.