Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33680

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/27/2019

RE: Rec Under 15

Luis David Maya of San Mateo, CA USA asks...

Are 'supported jumps' (aka rugby lifts) allowed in soccer? where are they allowed or disallowed in the LotG?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Luis
While not explicitly stated in the Laws it is considered to be unsporting behaviour which is a caution and an indirect free kick.
That principle was part of the Laws in the past and that has continued through procedural knowledge.
So one will never see *rugby type* lifts in the game. Perhaps there might be a odd instance of a player in a group levering themselves up off the back of a team mate which may go unpunished.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Luis,
Supported jumps are NOT permitted.
To do so is considered USB and could be cautionable misconduct. I have confidence my colleagues have a historical record of the old Q & A that used to explain it. It is not in the LOTG per se as a stated example but remains in principle USB .


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Luis,
As ref Dawson says, tactics such as two players combining - or one player using a team mate's body, to gain height are considered unsporting behaviour and are not allowed in association football.

This is no longer explicitly stated in the Laws of the Game but it (or something very close and directly analogous to it) was before the 'great rewrite' of 1997. Up until that point, there was an IFAB decision (Decision 2 to Law 12) that stated:

''If a player leans on the shoulders of another player of his own team in order to head the ball, the referee shall stop the game, caution the player for ungentlemanly conduct and award an indirect free−kick to the opposing side.''

The spirit of that decision is still held to and a player using these kinds of tactics should still to this day, be cautioned for USB.

The wording of this decision, along with many others, was removed in 1997 not because they were invalid but as part of an effort to shorten and simplify the Laws document, in a similar fashion to the rewrite carried out in 2016.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33680
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.