Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33687

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 10/3/2019

RE: Youth to adult, comp and rec.

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

I saw a similar thing happen on the weekend, in the Rugby World Cup - then it happened to me in a women's 7-a-side game, Tuesday.

In the midfield, a woman pushed the ball past me and I thought I was stepping out of her path, to let her go through. We both zigged when one of us should have zagged and we collided and fell to the ground, with a bit of a laugh. :)

Though high-paced and good quality soccer, it's played in a 'recreational' spirit. Play was stopped and I awarded a drop ball to the blocked-out player. There was no complaint.

Similar was done in the rugby game, but it only 'felt' like the proper thing to do here. I didn't know if it is supported in the new Laws, like a ref getting hit by a ball is.

Your thoughts?

Thanks again, for your valuable work here.

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Barry,
While it's true that the law doesn't allow for a dropped ball just because a player and the referee collide, if both you and the player end up on the ground, I think you would be entitled to say that you were temporarily unable to carry out your duties as a referee (as you were not able to properly see what was going on in the game) and would need to stop play for that reason. Having stopped play, a dropped ball to the team in possession before the stoppage, would then become the correct restart.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
As described it is not supported in Law. A dropped ball only applies when the ball makes contact with the referee not a player. In your scenario the referee can make a case for being *incapacitated* on the fall to the ground for a few seconds in which case play can be stopped with a DB restart. The team last in possession gets the ball.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=YLfhUzS7lio
I got in the way of a player recently in a small tight field and he swore at me. I stopped play cautioned him and restarted with an IDFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33687
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.