Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33698

High School 10/9/2019

RE: Varsity High School

Derek of Cary, IL USA asks...

Do PKs to determine the outcome after a game ends in a tie count toward a team's goals?

Only reason I ask is the scoreboard operator was ticking each goal during the kicks. I know in IFAB matches they don't, as the game is officially a draw, but I don't remember if they do in NFHS rules. Hockey only adds 1 goal to the winner of the penalty shots regardless of the goals scored in the sequence.

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Derek,
The NFHS Rules Book contains a recommended tie breaking procedure.

The NFHS recommended rule requires that one goal be added to the winning team score and that a notation indicating that a tie breaker system was used may be added.

Since this is a recommended rule and it is a state high school association decision on the tie-breaking procedure that is adopted, I checked with the Illinois High School Association to make certain that this NFHS rule recommendation is adopted in Illinois, and it is.

The scoreboard operator may have been adding the successful goals to let spectators know the tie-breaking status, but all the successful kick goals would not be added at the end - only one goal for the winning team is to be added.

I hope that you have a successful remainder of the season and get to work a boys' championship game in November.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33698
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.