Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33755

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/5/2019

RE: Under 19

jeff of carmel, indiana usa asks...

Keeper blocks a shot and has the ball in his hands. He then sets the ball down like he is going to kick it but then picks it back up, foul? I though that as long as the keeper does not play the ball he is allowed to pick it back up.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jeff,
Short answer is NO!
once the keeper releases the ball AFTER handling it legally, he may not use his hands again UNLESS that ball is contacted/played/touched by another player off either team. He can bounce the ball but if he sets it on the ground, based in your description it is a 2nd touch and an INDFK.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeff
The answer is that it is an offence by the goalkeeper to release the ball from his control / possession and then touch the ball with his hands again.
It makes no difference whether the ball is played or not by the goalkeeper just that he uses his hand/s.
I have seen the odd situation where after a save by the goalkeeper while on the ground sort of releases the ball from his grasp on his getting up yet re-grips the ball immediately which while technically a release is either not seen as that or doubtful.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33755
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.