Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33763

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/9/2019

RE: Amateur Adult

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro , Ca Sacratomato asks...

Big debate amongst colleagues... on a penalty kick in the middle of the game, goalie blocks a PK, can the attacker score on the second touch? I am being told no but I can't find anything in the rule book that says play is over as soon as goalie blocks pk.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi George,
Frankly I am confused at why you and your colleagues are confused?
A Pk taken DURING a match is not an EXTENDED PK or KFTPM to decide a winner . A regular Pk is a restart like all others, where once the kicker kicks & moves the ball into play another player from EITHER Team must touch the ball before the kicker can do so a 2nd time! On a regular Pk one reason the Pk kicker could NOT play the ball would be if he rebounded the ball off the woodwork without touching the ball touching the keeper. THAT COULD result in 2nd touch and an INDFK out! Once a keeper makes contact with the ball if the ball rebounds away the PK kicker can kick away. What the Pk kicker cannot do is try to kick the ball again if the keeper has their hands on the ball as that ball is unchallengable .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi George,
Like my colleagues, I don't see why there's any debate here - the law is clear. For a penalty kick during normal play, the kicker cannot play the ball again until another player has touched it. The goalkeeper is another player so if the keeper has touched it, the penalty taker can then play it again. This is not considered a second touch, as in 'second touch violation' - that is when the same player touches the ball again *before* another player has touched it.

It is only when a penalty is taken in time added on at the end of the half specifically for the penalty to be taken, or in a penalty shoot-out, that the kicker cannot play the ball a second time.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
Not sure why there is a big debate here.
A penalty kick is a restart during the game so like any other restarts the ball is in play when it is kicked and moved. The kicker may not touch the ball again until it has touched another player so in the penalty kick the save meets this requirement. The kicker may play the rebound on a save.
Now if it rebounds from the frame of the goal there is no touch but another player so the kicker is restricted until that happens.
If play has been extended at the end of a half or end of a game to allow the kick no follow up play is allowed
In Kicks from the Penalty Mark the kicker cannot play the ball for a second time. Should that happen the kick is over and counted as a miss.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi George,

The Law for 'Kicks From The Penalty Mark' - aka 'penalty shootout' states that the kicker is not allowed to touch the ball a second time. That clause does not apply to penalty kicks - because at a penalty kick, the ball is in play when it is kicked and moved forwards. From that point, it's in general play and anything can happen.

If the keeper saves the ball, then play continues. There have been penalties where the kicker actually passed the ball to the side (and forwards) for a teammate to run onto - this is legal.

The only reason a kicker wouldn't be able to take a second touch after the keeper touches it would be if it's not considered general play and nobody can touch it. The goalkeeper is a player, like anybody else, so once the keeper touches it, the kicker can touch it. If the ball bounced off the goalpost or crossbar without the keeper touching it then the kicker cannot touch the ball.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33763
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33775

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.