Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33793

12/5/2019

RE: rec/select/adult High School

Dan of Seattle, Wa United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33792

After mis-controlling a ball and with an attacker then about to score a goal would a goalie jumping on the ball still be an idfk, not dogso?

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Dan,
I really don't understand what you are asking. To me, jumping on the ball implies that the goalkeeper landed on the ball with his/her feet.

This would be legal since the goalkeeper is playing the ball with the feet.

Or are you saying the goalkeeper fell on the ball and covered it with his/her body which would cause a dangerous play situation.

In high school games, this would be an indirect kick. If inside the penalty area, there would be no caution or disqualification. If this occurred outside the penalty area, the goalkeeper would be disqualified.

Perhaps, you could provide more specific information on the situation.

I hope that your fall high school season was successful.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Dan,
Assuming that when you talk about a goalkeeper 'jumping on the ball' that involves touching it with the hands, the law is quite clear on this, stating as follows:

''If the goalkeeper handles the ball inside their penalty area when not permitted to do so, an indirect free kick is awarded but there is no disciplinary sanction.''

The explanation given by the IFAB that accompanies this makes it even clearer in terms of DOGSO:

''Explanation:
Goalkeepers cannot handle the ball in their penalty area from a deliberate kick or throw-in from a team-mate, or having released the ball from their hands. If they do, it is an IDFK but this and any other 'illegal' handling does not incur any disciplinary sanction even if it stops a promising attack or denies a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity.''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dan
A goalkeeper cannot be sanctioned with any disciplinary sanction even if it stops a promising attack or denies a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity when he handles a deliberate kick from a team mate inside his penalty area. It is an IDFK only.
The thinking is that the IDFK sanction is to prevent the ball being withheld from challenge when it is deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a team mate. To go beyond that with a card would be to stop the goalkeeper doing what is expected of him which is to save the ball. One could not have a situation where a goalkeeper would be sent off say for handling a ball to save a goal or goal scoring opportunity inside his penalty area when it is part of his role.
It is not listed either as one of the sanctions in NFHS. You can assume that the statement** a player (other than a goalkeeper within his/her own penalty area) deliberately handles the ball, attempting to prevent a goal and the goal is not scored.** indirectly states that the goalkeeper is exempt from sanction other than the IDFK.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Dan,
the keepers' NUMBER ONE job to is deny goals to the opposition.
He just can not do it illegally.
This causes a conundrum for some and confusion due to the DOGSO criteria looking as if it was met via a free kick incident but forgetting the other part of DOGSOH where is explicitly states a keeper CAN NOT Be sent off for use of hands to play the ball inside the PA!

Although inside the PA he is permitted to use his hands to play that ball there are exceptions where he is restricted and subsequently punished with an INDFK from the location where his hands are used to play the ball. .Via the double touch (after a release) or back pass off the foot of a teammate or a direct throw in by a team mate .
The answer to your question is always an INDFK from the pointof the hand/ball contact subject to the special circumstances in the goal area, IF the criteria for the handling restrictions apply! Some consider it as USB but I hold the keeper saving a goal is what he is destined to do. The INDFK opportunity alone, should set the fairness table square again!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33793
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.