Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33841

High School 1/17/2020

RE: Rec High School

Jeff Kwak of Plantation, FL USA asks...

A player deliberately, and without question, jumps and knocks the ball down with his hand, preventing a long pass on a break-away opportunity stopping the advantage and the attack mid-field.

What should the call be, and what law describes the outcome?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeff
Both FIFA and NFHS are at one on this.
The sanction is a direct free kick and a caution / yellow card.
In the circumstances where the action denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity it is a red card



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Jeff,
High school has RULES not laws. Those responsible for drafting these rules are very fierce in their defense of and inclusion of differences between school ie as an outside class room versus professional or adult outcomes. Here though the similarities in rules from high school and their counterpart LOTG from FIFA reflect the same outcome, a DFK or PK restart based on the location of the deliberate handling. The defender would be shown the yellow card and cautioned for the USB action of breaking up the attack. A SLIGHT potential for a red card send off if the action denied a goal scoring opportunity. My colleague quotes the appropriate rules .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jeff,
The call should be a direct free kick to the opposition for the deliberate handling and a caution to the guilty player for deliberately stopping an attack.

Both sanctions are found within NFHS Rule 12. The free kick is as per Rule 12 Section 2 - Handling, as follows:

''A player shall be penalized for deliberately handling, carrying, striking or propelling the ball with a hand or arm.
EXCEPTION: Goalkeeper when the ball is within his/her own penalty area. (12-7-1)
PENALTY: Direct free kick.''

The caution is according to Rule 12 Section 8 - Misconduct, Art. 1.f.6 which states:

''A player, coach or bench personnel shall be cautioned (yellow card) for: [...] deliberate handball to stop an attack.''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33841
Read other Q & A regarding High School

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33845

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.