Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33865

Law 11 - Offside 2/2/2020

RE: Adult

Demetrios of Limassol, Cyprus asks...

Hello there, reference video https://youtu.be/3bD8E9Wwo3A concerning the match AEL v APOLLON 2-0 for the Cyprus league dated Feb2, 2020.At 9:25 in your opinion was it a penalty or offside? Was it maybe nothing of the above? Thx a lot/Demetris

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Demetrios
It looks to me that the correct decision is a penalty kick.
The player in an offside position does not do enough for me to interfere with an opponent BEFORE the foul to merit an offside call,
According to Law 11 to interfere with an opponent a player has to either prevent an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by
# clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision or
# challenging an opponent for the ball or
# clearly attempting to play a ball which is close when this action impacts on an opponent or
# make an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball .
In my opinion the player in an offside does not do any of the four actions preventing a defender from playing or being able to play the ball and therefore it was not offside.
It is simply the defender fouling the attacker through a trip as he goes forward with the ball going towards a team mate who is in an offside position.
The reason the offside flag goes up is that the ball goes to the PIOP from the fouled attacker but that happened AFTER the foul by the defender.






Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33865
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.