Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33896

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/22/2020

RE: Competitive Adult

PeterBabbage of Hjorring, Denmark asks...

The law as I read it says that if a ball hits a team-mate first and deflects onto another defenders arm its not a penalty.. Taking it at its word can that mean that if a shot hits a defender first, you can stick out your arm to stop a goal and it would be no penalty?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Peter,
The bit of the current law about it not being an offence if the ball comes off a player who is close does not express things in such a black and white fashion as you suggest - it merely says that this is ''not usually'' an offence.

However - and more importantly, the very first part of the law on handling says quite definitively that:

''It is an offence if a player: deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, including moving the hand/arm towards the ball''

Then, before the section about things that are ''not usually an offence'' the law says:

''The above offences apply even if the ball touches a player's hand/arm directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close.''

So in the example you give, the defender who sticks their arm out to deliberately block the ball has definitely committed a handling offence and the law says that this category of offence is not covered by the 'closeness' exception.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Peter
Not the case as the second player has deliberately touched the ball with his hand/arm by moving the hand/arm towards the ball which is always an offence. The advice is to help doubtful situations where the ball hits a player and rebounds at short distance hitting an arm unintentionally either the players own arm or another player in close proximity.
Case in point was the Rojo handball in the Argentina v Nigeria game in the WC. Rojo headed the ball onto his own arm inside the penalty area which under the new advice is not considered handling. The referee on review through VAR did not give it yet it was open to interpretation that it was handling.
Referees are still looking for handling that is intentional and the advice is to assist in situations where the action is accidental, hitting the players arm unintentionally.
For me the new advice has only tidied up a few situations such as the ball hitting an attackers arm in a scoring situation, where the ball hits a players body before hitting the players arm and where the ball hits a players arm on the ground that is used to cushion a fall.
In many ways the advice except for the attacking handling situation has changed very little as there is still an opinion based call to be made. For example the arm on the ground is still handling if the hand/arm is extended laterally or vertically away from the body or in situations where the players arms are above/beyond their shoulder level.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33896
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.