Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33920

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/12/2020

RE: competive Adult

alex wong of richmond hill, ON Canada asks...

During a penalty kick, the pk taker kick the ball lightly forward for a team mate B to rush in and shoot. A defender also rushes in and hold the player B to prevent him from taking the shot. Is this considered dogso and the ref should award a penalty kick + RC the defender?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Alex,
As my colleagues say, assuming there is no encroachment to be considered and if the 4 DOGSO criteria are met, this could easily be a DOGSO offence. It would be up to the referee in the match to decide. If the referee so decides, it would be a penalty and a red card offence as holding is not considered to be an attempt to play the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Alex,
the ball is in play the moment the PK taker taps it forward,! So provided there was no obvious encroachment or misconduct PRIOR to the PK being taken the defender who holds an attacker inside the PA has committed a second PK offence , If there is no advantage & the DOGSO criteria was met we would have another PK with the defender in question being shown the red card & sent off. A holding foul is not thought of as a reasonable attempt to win the ball where we might conceded a yellow card only . Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alex
Provided there is no encroachment by either player then the ball is in play and the criteria for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity are considered and once all four are present it is a penalty kick and as it is holding, which is not a genuine attempt to play the ball it is a red card.
So as described it is more than likely a red card for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity and a penalty kick restart.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33920
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.