Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3423

Kicks From The Penalty mark

Barrett Meiselman of Modesto, CA USA asks...

I'm having trouble reconciling the responses to questions 3406 and 3413, both dealing with the outcome of kicks taken from the penalty mark to decide a match...In question 3406, the ball rebounded from the cross bar away from the goal line, then bounced off the unlucky goal keeper's back and into the goal. The consensus was the goal counted, as it was all one continuous action...In question 3413, the ball rebounded from the goal post away from the goal line, was fumbled by the keeper and then entered the goal. The consensus was to disallow the goal, as when the ball ceased to move forward toward the goal, it was a dead ball...Did I miss something, or am I just confused? It seems to me that the two scenarios are so similar they would require the same interpretation...Thanks for your response,and thanks for the great web site, as always.

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

Hi Barrett,..I'm afraid that I missed both of those questions on the site, but based on your quick description, I would allow both goals to stand. Thanks for the kind words about the site and for visiting.



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi, since I answered both those I'll try to explain. 3406 is clear to me that the ball is still alive. 3413 deals with a 10 year old rec player and my answer dealt with the referee's decision being final. There is no law that states once the ball moves away from the goal it's dead. The U-11 rec question implied that the ball was dead and the young keeper then fumbled it into the net even though the person that submitted the question thought there was no control by the young keeper, I'm assuming the referee thought there was. The call could have gone either way and in my response I indicate I couldn't comment on it without seeing it. As long as the ball is contacting the ground, the crossbar, or the keeper, it may be considered live. My point was that once the referee decides it's over, it's over as far as kicks from the mark are concerned.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson

Hi Barret, ..As you can see when we assume things it is not always cut and dried. I too would think as does Referee Kalstrom a mishandled rebound could be considered live and the goal would count but could also see a hasty whistle to signal the PK is over and the keeper tossing it in. Have a peek at Q@A #3419 it deals with some of this and sights other examples. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3423
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.