Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3433

Law 11 - Offside

RE: AASL Under 14

Marty Offineer of Amherst, OH USA asks...

Player A is without the ball but is in an offsides position. Player B, with ball, dribles past 2nd last defender and is approaching goalee. Player A, realizing he is an offsides position, moves himself behind ball and player B as Player B dribbles forward. However, Player A is still in front of the 2nd last defender. Player B passes the ball to player A, who is still behind the ball. Is player A offsides because he is still in front of the 2nd last defender?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No. In order to be in offside position, a player has to be nearer the opponent's goal line than BOTH the next to last defender AND the ball. A player can NEVER be offside if he's behind the ball. This,unfortunately,gets called wrong often by inexperienced referees. Hope that didn't happen in your game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

No this is legal under the Laws of the Game, specifically Law 11 which states that in order to be called for offside, at the moment the ball is played by a team mate, you must be in the attacking half of the field closer to the goal line than both the second to last defender and the ball. In your scenario, the player is behind the ball and therefore cannot be called for offside...Great question, thanks for visiting our site.



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3433
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.