Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3469

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

JOHN MERNER of ottawa, asks...

The ball was intentionaly passed back to the keeper, the attacking player then made contact with the keeper such that a red card was warranted and the attacker was sent off...what is the correct restart...there would have been an in direct free kick to the attacking team because of the pass back ..what effect does the red card have to the correct restart

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

I need a bit more information from you to answer your question/s. A pass back to the keeper from his/her own team mate is not a problem by itself. It becomes an infraction if once passed, the keeper then uses his/her hands and picks it up within their own penalty area...So... if the keeper picked it up and was subsequently fouled by the attacker(before the referee had a chance to blow her whistle), play is stopped for the touch by the keeper, the attacker is shown the red card and the restart is an indirect for the attacker's team at the place where the keeper picked up the ball, subject to the special circumstances in Law 8...If however....the keeper never picked up the ball and then is fouled by the attacker. Play is stopped, red card shown and the restart is a direct freekick is awarded to the keeper's team...There could be.... one more scenario, if the touch by the keeper and the foul by the attacker happened at the same moment, play would be stopped, the attacker shown the red card and the restart would be a direct free kick for the keeper's team. This restart because when two fouls/infractions occur at the same time, you punish the most serious one...Thank you for your question.



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson

Hi John,. I think REf Kalstrom pretty much covered the situation. Just to add a bit, that pass back must have been with the foot of the defender for an INDFK to apply. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3469
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.