Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3592

Law 14 - Penalty kick

RE: Under 18

HoldenMan of , asks...

Last night I was watching the Argentina game in the world cup (I forget who it was against), and in the dying minutes Argentina was awarded with a penalty kick. The kick was deflected back onto the field off either the post or the keeper, and another Argentinian player recieved the ball and scored. On the replay you could quite clearly see that the 2nd Argentinian player started his run at the same time the kicker started his movement towards the ball. As a result the 2nd Argentinian player was a good 4 or 5 yards in the penalty box when the penalty kick was taken. This goal was allowed. Shouldn't the goal have been disallowed because another attacking player (the one who scored) was in the box when the kick was taken?

Answer provided by Referee Krijvenaar

Holdeman,.. YES, if what you are stating happened , the penalty should have been done over again. (they played against Sweden)...., but in the realworld this all happens in a split of a second.....rgds

Read other questions answered by Referee Krijvenaar

View Referee Krijvenaar profile

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

I agree, the goal should have been disallowed and the restart should have been an IFK at the place where the Argentinian player Crespo first made contact with the ball according to Law 14.

Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson

Hi Holdenman,..Several incidents that have occured at the World cup that send IDIOTIC versions of confusion and misinformation to the public that in general have NO real good answers. Infringements on PK situations is crystal clear yet no referee at the WC takes it as anything but trival so what point is there in telling everyone the law simply does not apply at the WC level for this infringement. We might as well rewrite the law it simply is not enforced effectively. Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

By the letter of the law, the goal should not have counted and the English awarded an IFK from the point the Argentinian made contact with the ball. Now, from a practical point of view, this law is not widely enforced. I did not see any of the English players arguing, so they must have thought that the offense was minor enough to not want to complain. If the offended party (the English) doesn't think the offense is serious enough to call, then Law 18 (Common Sense) dictates that you shouldn't call the offense. Of course, this type of reasoning make officiating much more difficult than a simply black and white issue.

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3592
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.