Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3600

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

RE: any

Mario Sandoval of Huntsville, AL USA asks...

WC: US vs Poland. Donovans "first" goal. Was Donovan's shoulder charge (in my opinion, he did not dipp or show any malicious motion of pushing) a good call? How can you tell when to make a "fair charge" "no call" when one of the players is a little bit more agresive than the other? Thanks...Mario

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

Hi,..I at first was "troubled" by this call. It seemed like there was no way that Landon committed a foul and the replay only showed a close-up that also looked like he didn't commit a foul. However, I have taped all the games and I rewound it and watched the regular action as it actually happened and I feel it was a good call, even though I wanted a goal. landon knocked the defender off the ball just a bit so that he was unencombered to head it in. It was unfair not in how hard he hit him, but the fact that he knocked him off the ball which is unfair...We were lucky in that game. Fortunately it didn't matter.



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

I will disagree with my colleague on this one. I believe Donovan fairly charged the opponent with the ball in playing distance. The charge was neither dangerous nor violent. I think the referee called a very "soft" foul here. I don't think that level of contact should have been called in a game of this level.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3600
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.