Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3937

Law 18 - Common Sense

RE: 7 to 8 year old leauge

george of Jackson, georgia butts asks...

If a shot is made by a striker and is in the air when the whistle blows but goes into the goal does it count? I know in basketball if a shot is made at the buzzer it does. The referees on the feild gave it to us and then took it back because they said they didnt know the ruling

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

In soccer, when the whistle blows, for any reason, the ball is dead or considered "out of play". Therefore, in the situation you present a goal cannot be allowed...My advice to any referee would be to not blow the whistle to end the half or the match when a shot has been taken and it's still possible to score a goal. Law 5 tells us that the referee acts as the timekeeper and Law 7 tells us that the referee at his/her discretion may add time for any time lost. SO even if actual time has expired and you need to keep all games going on schedule, as the referee you can surely rationalize a few extra seconds in a match to let the flight of the ball finish...Good luck with your playing. Have fun and remember the referee is there to help ensure that both teams have fun and play fair.



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Hi George, Ref Kalstrom is correct, no goal. Sounds like your referee lacked a little thing pilots call situational awareness. This is like common sense only it allows one to know what is going on all around. Unlike common sense, this can be learned, just a matter of looking around to see what?s going on. Our referee probably fixated on a beeping watch, looked down, lost his situational awareness, then blew to end the match. Sorry, stuff happens. ..An aside, the very newest referees usually draw the games at the level you are coaching. They are given a chance to learn in a, usually, low intensity match. Sometimes the referee?s learning curve is very steep, indeed! Give the new referee a chance, perhaps he will be a member of the International Panel twenty years from now. When he is, remind him of this lost goal...Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3937
Read other Q & A regarding Law 18 - Common Sense

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.