Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 4092

Law 15 - Throw In

RE: Sunday League Adult

chris chaffey of hitchin, england asks...

I sometimes have to play in goal and have a few queries. If a throw-in is thrown to the keeper, can he pick it up? Can a goalkeeper take throw-ins (although its not likely)? Also if the keeper get the ball to his feet outside the box, is he allowed to take it inside and pick it up or does this count as a back pass to himself? Id be greatful if you could clear this up for me.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Chris, you may not use your hands if the ball is deliberately kicked or thrown to you or to where you can play it by a colleague. You may take any throw-in. If you win the ball in the outfield you are within the Law if you dribble the ball infield and then use your hands, it is not a back pass to yourself...Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

A goalkeeper may not pick the ball up with his/her hands if it has been thrown in directly to him/her from a team mate, if the throwin comes from an opponent, he/she may use their hands...With regard to the ball at the keeper's feet outside the box, the keeper may dribble the ball into the box and pick it up with his/her hands IF the ball was last played by a member of the opposing team...Thanks for asking, keep having fun!!



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Answer provided by Referee Nagy

Hi Chris! Goalies may not pick up a ball thrown in or kicked to him by a team mate, no matter where he received the ball. If he does outside the area, DFK, inside IFK. If the ball is from an opponent he can dribble it into the area and then pick it up. He can also pick it up if he receives the ball from a team mate who did not KICK it to him: heading, shoulder, knee, bum, chest, back is OK. Kick is a no-no. Gene



Read other questions answered by Referee Nagy

View Referee Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 4092
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.