Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6254

RE: Local league Under 14

Vince Bown of Swindon, Swindon England asks...

Left sided mid-field player takes direct shot which is saved by the keeper who cannot hold the ball which rolls onto pitch for striker to put the ball away in goal the ref then blows and says when the original shot taken the striker was offside.There was no call for offside from line and striker ran onto the ball to stike and at the time of the original shot the ref did not blow does this not mean the moment of offside has passed anyway?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Vince any player in an offside position at the moment of the last touch be a colleague can never interfere with play or an opponent or gain advantage until the defence controls the ball or the attack again touches the ball and he is, by then, not in an offside position. ..The first sentence in Law 11 is: It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position. The flag indicates when the referee is to sanction a player for offside, NOT that there is a player in an offside position. In this case the referee blew for offside as soon as the offside player gained advantage, which is correct. The shot on goals was allowed because the offside player was determined not to be interfering with play or an opponent and that is how it should be...A player may be pulled up for offside 2, 3, 5, 9 or whatever seconds after the moment to judge offside position has passed. This is how it should be. Have a look at ussoccer.com then referees then instructional materials then offside.ppt. What you saw is talked to in one of the slides toward the end. ..When judgment of offside position is necessary, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his own team ask these questions: ..1. Is the player in the attacking half of the field?.2. Is the player nearer the goal line than the ball?.3. Is the player nearer the goal line than any two defenders?..If any question is answered no, stop here. The player is not in an offside position...If all are answered yes, then the player is in an offside position, ask two more questions: ..a. Is the player interfering with play or an opponent?.b. Is the player gaining an advantage?..If either of these is true then the assistant flags for offside and the referee blows for the infraction and awards an indirect free kick, to be taken from where the attacker was at the moment the ball was touched or played by a member of his own team...Remember that it is not contrary to the Law to be in an offside position. After the ball is played a footballer may run into an offside position and play it without penalty. When a player is in an offside position and the ball is played forward that player may not get involved, without penalty, even if the ball bounces off an opponent or an opponent misplays it...Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The referee has judged that when the ball was last played or touched by a teammate,in this case the midfielder, the striker was in offside position. It is not an offense to be in offside position. However, once the keeper deflected the ball to the player that was in offside position, he gained an advantage by being in that position and the proper call of offside infraction was made. It's usually the AR's call but ultimately the responsibility lies with the referee



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

There would not have being a flag because the referee would have seen the player clearly offside (yes you don't always have to be in line to spot offside) let play continue because the striker didn't interfer with play and there would have been play on if the keeper caught the ball. But because the keeper didn't catch the ball and the striker then gained an advantage and became offside. The referee would have blown his whistle before the assistant had time to put up his flag.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6254
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.