Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6271

RE: Rec Under 15

reza of vancouver, BC canada asks...

I have 2 questions. If your golie is down and the opposing team takes a shot and your behind the golie and the ball is going in the net for sure, is it not better to save it with your hands and get a penelty for the other team instead of the goal. .and also my other question is that, when the opposing team is taking a corner cant you move all your players in front of the 18 yard line so the opposing players will be offside.????.thanks

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Good, but slightly flawed, thinking Reza. ..The player who feel it better to use her hands to stop the ball from entering the goal must understand she will be sent off almost instantly. The keeper will face an 11 metre kick shortly there after. If she stops the penalty Iw worked, except for the player missing the rest of this match and at least the next. Pretty hefty price for saving a goal don't ya think?..The ole -go to the top of the penalty area on a corner- ploy. Works only if the opposing side does not know Law 11 - Offside makes receiving the ball direct from corner kick an exception. Not offside until the next touch. Leaves your goal unguarded at a most inopportune moment!..Thanks for asking a referee instad of trying this oun in a match... Still want to have a go?..Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Reza. As to your first question, true, you may prevent the goal by using your hands but in addition to the penalty kick you will also be sent off, your team play short the rest of the game and you have to sit out the next game also. Quite a price to pay. Second question, there is no offside on a corner kick, a goal kick, or a throw-in.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

first question only in extreme circumstances. second the ball is on the goal line and represents the offside line if you want to do something like that you could do it from a normal free kick situation in the middle of the feild. but that also has some risk.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6271
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.