Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6494

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

RE: All Levels - Full Size Field Game Under 13

Neil Grant of Surrey, BC Canada asks...

If a keeper stops a ball outside the penalty area (not from his own team mate)and dribbles it into the penalty area is the keeper allowed to pick up the ball? Is this considered a back pass even though he/she brought it into the box themselves and did not receive it from their own player?..My suspission is yes it is allowed. Was I correct to keep the play going or should I have called an indirect kick for the opposition at the location of the keeper picking up the ball?..Neil Grant

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Neil this is a reoccurring question here, the goalkeeper may not handle a ball received directly from throw-in by a colleague or when it is deliberately kicked to him, or to where he can play it, by a colleague. So if that has not happened he may do his job, handle the ball within his own penalty area for a maximum of six seconds. ..Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Neil, it can NEVER be a passback if coming from an opponent. NEVER,EVER. Get that out of your mind now. Just like with offside. Can never be offside if receives a pass from an OPPONENT..If a keeper collects the ball outside her PA from a pass or throw-in from a teammate, she can dribble it into the PA but may not handle it. You were correct with no call. Awarding an IFK would have been a serious mistake. Go over all the possible handling infractions regarding the keeper that result in free kicks until you have the concepts cold. Here's a start, outside her PA, a keeper is simply like any other player with no special rights or penalties; for handling infractions inside her own PA a keeper is treated differently, always an IFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

The reason we get this question so much is that while this is perfectly legal in outdoor soccer, it is illegal in most indoor leagues.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6494
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.