Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6504

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

RE: youth ref Adult

ralph shelley of Huntington, ny usa asks...

During the US Women's match against Norway, I noticed that Julie Foudy put both her hand around the waste of an opponent.who had her back to foudy and had possesion. Foudy was not pushing. Holding in some way maybe? No call by ref. This was also done by another US player. Comments please and thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

This is a holding foul and should be punished by an direct free-kick or a penalty kick. The foul may not have been called if the referee didn't see it or if the Norwegian player got away quickly enough that the referee saw no reason to call it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Ralph there, too, exists the possibility the referee considered it trivial or that the action was accepted by her opponent as within her idea of fair play...Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Didn't see it. Holding is one of the four fouls that don't have to be at least careless for the referee to call. That said, I agree with my fellow referees, she may not have seen it or may have deemed it to be trifling. A third possibility is,in his mind, she allowed for advantage if the opponent got away too quickly for her to give the advantage signal. Thanks for writing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6504
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.