Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6615

Law 2 - The Ball 10/16/2003

Zach of Santa Maria, CA USA asks...

While the goalie has the ball in his posession, can he/she step on the penalty area line? I am assuming that they can but I just wanted some clarification. Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Dawson 10/16/2003

Hi Zach,.the keeper can step where he wants Zach. The question I think you are asking is twofold. The 1st part is, the boundrylines are part of the area they deliniate. Thus on the line is in the area..The key though is the location of the BALL not a keeper's feet. As my good colleague REF Fleischer gives a good example in thinking of the boundry lines as a 5 inch pane of glass extending into the air. IF the ball touches the outer edge it is IN play and IN that area. The keeper could be flat on his stomach with arms outstretched and finger tips just gently resting on the ball. Only his feet are pointing back towards the middle of the field. So with his entire body outside of the penalty area and the ball resting against the outer edge he can legally utilize his hands on the ball as it is considered inside the penalty area. Hope I clarified it not confused it..Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 10/16/2003

Matters not where the feet are, only the hands with the ball. If the keeper is standing inside the penalty area yet has the ball extended over while in his hands, he has infringed Law 12. However, most referees would consider this trifling the first time it was done and probably just give a verbal warning to be more careful

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer 10/16/2003

Zach, it's the ball not the feet. The ball inside a goalkeeper's penalty area may be handled. It's a simple game...Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6615
Read other Q & A regarding Law 2 - The Ball

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.