Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6679


RE: Adult

jim adams of thomaston,ga, usa asks...

I have asked this of several refs. and have gotten a variety of answers,please clear this up.A player is 1v1 with the keeper ,shot is taken the keeper bobbles the ball and dives for the ball.Meanwhile the shooting player has traveled into the goal and,while still off of the field play rakes the ball into the goal.My answers have varied from goal, to a card on the person in the goal{keeper interference],to offsides.please dceide

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 10/22/2003

There's nothing illegal if a player momentarily leaves the field of play during the normal course of action. But, I'm confused. How could he be off the fop and manage to "rake" the ball in, and what does "rake" mean? If he's lying outside the goal line and reaches out with his hand, he's deliberately handling the ball. Did he kick the keeper or trip him? The only thing I can say with any assurance is this is not a case of offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer 10/22/2003

Jim for the purposes of this Game if a player leaves or is forced off the field of play as a normal course of play all is well. This gent found himself overrunning the ball and off the field. He turned around and found the ball, all by its lonesome on the field and did what all players do, he made a play for it. Scored a goal too! If the goalkeeper had a hand on the ball then there's no way we allow this, but you didn't mention that. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson 10/22/2003

Hi Jim, .If the player shooting was not offside before he shot he certainly is not after the shot. Leaving the FOP through momentum is not considered as leaving without permission so the player has committed no infringement. I will assume RAKE is to reach back with the leg or foot and try and draw the ball into the goal. This is allowed as part of ongoing play. Nothing in your senario indicates any foul by the attacker on the keeper or any misconduct on his part that would nullify the goal in my opinion. As ref Fleischer points out you do not indicate any keeper posession of the ball or infer he was unfairly denied an opportunity to do so. Good Goal restart kick off unless there is more to it then you have described?.Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson 10/23/2003

If the goalkeeper has clear possession, then this is a foul and a possible card. If the ball is free, this is a valid goal. It certainly cannot be offside as the player is not receiving the ball from a teammate. He dribbled the ball in himself and then played a rebound from the keeper. If another player had gone against the keeper and the teammate was in the goal reaching back to "rake in" the rebound, this would almost certainly be offside (depending on the position of other defenders.)

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6679
Read other Q & A regarding

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.