Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6757

Law 5 - The Referee

RE: Classic Under 14

C. Foerster of little rock, AR asks...

Coach of Team 1 appears to have been verbally assaulting the Center referee. Referee verbally warns the Coach to leave the field, coach refuses, and steps about 15 feet from his players' bench. Center referee stands with his foot on the ball on the field, and waits a few minutes. Coach still hasn't left, so Center referee blows whistle, states that Coach of Team 1 has caused the referee to abandon the game. However, actual score at the time was 1 - 0 (in favor of Team 1). But, it was during a tournament, so the opposing team was awarded a score of 3 - 0. Coach of Team 1 says you can't call the game, you had to card me first before sending me off. Is the Center Referee required to give the coach a card first before sending him off, or ending the game?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

No, the coach was asked to leave because he failed to conduct himself in a responsible manner. He did not leave. Now he has caused a tournament loss to his team and will probably sit out for a number of matches. Isn't he special? ..Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

As a matter of fact, a referee CANNOT card a coach for anything. Doesn't suprise me that this coach didn't know this as he obviously didn't know he was required to behave in a responsible manner. Technically, the referee didn't abandon the match, he terminated it. A subtle but real difference.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

It sounds like the referee did everything right. The referee instructed the coach to leave the area, gave the coach sufficient time to leave, and then abandoned the match letting the tournament directors decide how to decide the game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6757
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.